Ninth District Western Region



The Auxiliary has units in all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and Guam.

Under the direct authority of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security via the Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard, the Auxiliary is internally operating levels are broken down into four organizational levels: National, District, Division, and Flotilla.


The national staff officers are responsible, along with the Commandant, for the administration and policy-making for the entire Auxiliary.


The District provides administrative and supervisory support to Divisions, promotes policies of both the District Commander and National Committee. Our District is shown in the dark orange color and identified as "9WR" in the map shown above. It encompasses parts of Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, and Michigan along the shores of Lake Michigan.


Flotillas in the same general geographic area are grouped into Divisions. The Division provides administrative, training and supervisory support to Flotillas and promotes District & National policy. The 9 Divisions of the Ninth District Western Region are listed to the right. Click on any Division name to be taken to a page describing that Division. The Division page contains a list of the Flotillas that make up that Division as well as a map showing the location of those Flotillas.


The Flotilla is the basic organizational unit of the Auxiliary and is comprised of at least 15 qualified members who carry out the day-to-day missions of "Team Coast Guard". Every Auxiliary members is part of a Flotilla. TheNinth District Western Region is made up of 49 Flotillas organized into 9 Divisions.

Contact UsContact Us
Ninth District Western Region

If you wish to contact us regarding any aspect of the Ninth District Westenr Region, please fill out the form to the right and click on the "Send Message" button. Your message will be sent to the District Staff Officer for Public Affairs (DSO-PA).

* required
Send Message